Two of my hobbies include reading and watching movies. Both are a great way to relax and settle down after a long day of school. In high school, I was told to read a classic novel. I love challenging myself and never take the easy route with anything. As a result, I decided to take on the challenge of reading “Gone with the Wind” within the quarter. This book is over a thousand pages long, but after I read the first page, I was captivated. It never felt like an assignment that had a due date, though I did start feeling a time crunch near the end. I had never read a book like this before. It was full of history, mystery, drama, and the most beautiful imagery. After I finished the book and my project, I want desperately to watch the film to watch and see if it lived up to the classic novel’s expectations.

“Gone with the Wind”, the movie, was released on January 17, 1940. Directed by Victor Fleming, George Cukor, and Sam Wood, were the amazing actors and actresses, Vivien Leigh, Leslie Howard, and Clark Gable. These people were the backbone behind one of the greatest films ever made. They created a film that captivated the viewers attention as much as the book did. They somehow took the four hour movie and turned it into an experience. You lived the story, you weren’t just viewing it. You felt the distress and agony of the Civil War as vividly as the dramatic Scarlett O’Hara. The gorgeous dresses and extravagant parties made you wish you lived in such a time.

Since its release, the timeless film, “Gone with the Wind” has been an unforgettable film. It will forever be a classic. All generations still enjoy its beauty as a well directed and captivating film.

Leave a comment